Skip to content

Peek-a-boo!

December 20, 2008

At 7pm, since setting off at 9.30am, I finally walked through my front door.

After a very long day walking around the streets and shops of Manchester with three friends, it was a pretty good feeling actually get home! Yes, it was a long day, but we had fun all the same.

I’m not going to write about every single detail of the day, but something worth mentioning would be the amazing masks we found in TK Maxx.

 

I'm on the right of the picture!

I'm on the right of the picture!

 

 Here’s me and my friend trying them out-they’re rather groovy aren’t they.

 I’ve really grown to love TK Maxx, just the randomness of what they stock is amazing, and unlike many other high street stores, not one has an identical collection of stock. So if you have the time to go through every rail looking for that amazing bargain, it’s pretty amazing!

 

But anyway, back to the masks. From a little Internet-based research and digging around, I’ve found these are most likely to be Italian Venetian ceramic wall masks. The influences are obviously romantic, not surprising to say they originate from Venice, one of the most romantic cities in the world!

 

 The contrast in colour between the two masks is very interesting. My mask uses the rich, deep colours of gold, emerald and black creating a very strong impact. Meanwhile, the mask my friend wears uses gentle colours sky blue, silver and mauve. Yet the design of the mask is consistent, (excluding the image printed on the faces) but I’m guessing this is due to ease where ever they’re made?

 

So, in ode to the romantic, flamboyant Italian influences of the masks, I have created my own outfit mood board (because I don’t really own anything suitable!) that fuses these influences together with my own randomness!

 
mask by sweetpeagreen

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

