Skip to content

Wear it Well-The Denim Jacket

February 19, 2009

So stonewash denim is set to be a big hit this summer. Apparently referencing the 80s, but I’m not too sure about that. But anyway, in reference to this trend, I give you ways to wear the (stonewash) denim jacket!

 

Always a timeless piece, the denim jacket has been transformed over time in many different ways. We’ve seen everything from the studded denim jacket to the embroidered variety. The jacket I’m showing you however is plain. I bought the jacket in the Warehouse summer sale (2008) and I think it was £15, reduced from £45! 🙂 

 

Below are my three suggested looks. We have smart-casual, smart (night out) and casual (day to day). Sorry for the deathly glares, I’ve been really tired this week-hence my lack of posts!

 

From Left to Right- (1) Smart Casual, (2) Smart (Going Out), (3) Casual (Day-to-Day).

From Left to Right- (1) Smart Casual, (2) Smart (Going Out), (3) Casual (Day-to-Day).

A light denim jacket is best paired with rich, dark colours. I have found that wearing the jacket with light colours can leave you with a washed out, insignificant outfit. By wearing darker colours underneath, a slimmer silhouette is created and the jacket makes a statement.  

So as you can see, it’s a very versatile piece, but we already knew that. It can be dressed up or down as tried and tested by my self. Generally the jacket will look cool, with a dude-ish attitude to go with it. Attitude is always important! 🙂

 

 

To come to an end, I’ll leave you with a few denim tips from me!

 

  • Never wear denim with other denim pieces, one item at a time only!
  • Dark denim is much more flattening than light denim.
  • Denim with bleach stains is a no-no, in my opinion anyway.
  • Never wear a denim jacket buttoned up.
  • Light denim=summer, dark demin=winter
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Rachael Capon permalink
    June 11, 2010 1:59 pm

    I just brought a cropped light denim jacket today and am not sure if it looks ridiculous or not!! It was a fine line between one size being too small and the next up being slightly big. I got the bigger size as I couldn’t breathe in the other, but am wondering if its too big and doesn’t look cute, like I think they are meant too!!

    • June 11, 2010 2:24 pm

      Hey Rachael!

      I suppose it depends on what look you’re going for? I originally thought mine was a bit on the big side when I first bought it-I bought it online so didn’t get the chance to try it on!

      I tend to unbutton the sleeves and roll them up and turn the inside openings out on themselves- a bit like you see on a blazer collar? I don’t know if that makes sense! But it gives the extra ‘baggy’ fabric a use so it looks tighter/smaller around the back of the jacket, I hope that helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

