Skip to content

New York Fashion Week Fall/Winter 09/10

February 23, 2009

So, this is my contribution to the coverage (although perhaps a little delayed) of the New York Fashion Week.

I wasn’t there, but from extensive online research I give you my personal highlights/favourites from the past week.

First of all I would like to mention the Urban Outfitters/Anthropologie collection, Leifsdottir. A small exhibition you may say, model’s showcased the collection to its audience in rather a petit room compared to the lavish exhibition halls of the other shows taking place. The clothes are very chic and stylish smart wear, displaying references to vintage fashions-something I think will inspire me, and perhaps you, for job interview outfits of the future!

Image taken by Michael Loccisano/Getty Images North America, taken from www.zimbio.com

Leifsdottir, Image taken by Michael Loccisano/Getty Images North America, taken from http://www.zimbio.com

The aspect I enjoyed most about this show was the make-up. Fresh, pale faced, rosy cheeks and bright red lips that lit up the model’s faces. This look is really glamorous in a very modern, funky sense-a look I think I’ll try and recreate in a future post!

Betsey Johnson also hosted a small show in ‘Betsey Crocker’s Kitchen’. This I liked a lot. The décor, as well as the clothing was really colourful and fun, I really like it when designers make that extra effort to stand out and be different, really makes the experience a whole lot more inspiring. But anyway, back to the clothing! Basically there’s a mish-mash of everything; florals, sequins, leopard print and even punk-goth makes an appearance within the massive explosion of colour. One item I’d like to pick out is the short waist corsets. Perhaps a bit of a development on the waist belt, obviously being more nipped in at the waist. I can’t see it being a trend that would flatter everyone, but I really like it anyway…you get my idea!

Image taken from style.com

Betsy Johnson, Image taken from style.com

Erin Featherston’s runway was another collection which particularly caught my eye. Inspired by the fairytales of Hans Christan Andersen, Featherston’s collection also rings similarities with Luella’s 08 winter collection. My favourite item from this collection would be the skirts which reminded me of umbrellas, although perhaps a little outrageous for day to day wear, these skirts are really fun and cute. White tights and big bows were also featured. You can get pretty similar big bows from LouLou Loves You, I’ve been toying with the idea for a while-but I suppose that’s for another post!

Last but not least, DKNY displayed a show of classic meets rock chic grunge, and it worked. Below is the image of my favourite outfit from their show, note the mid-calf length of the skirt! This is a daytime look I’d definitely wear, and it’s pretty simple to recreate.

Image taken from elleuk.com

DKNY, Image taken from elleuk.com

Below I’ve summarized the key trends/common appearances from the week. Enjoy!

Round Up of Prominent Trends for Winter 2009/10.
• Metallic/silks
• Ruffles
• Fur
• Browns/oranges
• Embellishment/sequins
• Leopard print vs. floral

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

