Skip to content

Inspiration: Zac Posen Vs. Charity Shop Chic

March 16, 2009

Who said you couldn’t recreate catwalk fashions from granny’s old curtains? 

Earlier this week, I came across a velvet skirt-suit in the sale bin of a local charity shop. For only £2, reduced from £9.50, this was definitely a quality recession buy.

Sexual huh?

Sexual huh?

As you can see it’s rather sexual…haha.

With no evidence of branded labels, I presume this is the masterpiece of a local creative genius. I very much doubt I’ll be wearing this as a two-piece; less is definitely more in this case!

Reminiscent of a period drama costume, I initially bought this item due to my love of the unusual shape of the jacket’s shoulders and pointy waist, as well as the pretty intricate pattern.

It wasn’t until I returned the garment home that I realised the similarities between the jacket’s structure and Zac Posen’s recently exhibited winter/fall 09/10 collection.

Image taken from elleuk.com

Image taken from elleuk.com

In the full swing of New York fashion week, Zac Posen’s collection featured big shoulders, long fluid dresses and lots of metallic fabrics.  Obviously outfits that make a big entrance and a big impression!

 posen inspired

Taking Zac Posen as a key influence, I have now dressed the charity shop jacket into a suitable outfit. I’m still unsure how adaptable to everyday life this will become, but I have visions of wearing long floating dresses and straw hats together with the jacket on mild summer evenings. 🙂

I don’t really know what to do with the skirt now….humph. Any ideas?

One Comment leave one →
  1. egotisticegotism permalink
    March 16, 2009 9:37 pm

    Hello Fashionista! Love your site! Check out my blog EgotisticEgotism.wordpress Thanks! enjoy!

Leave a Reply

