Skip to content

Lucy Locket had a…..Russian Doll!

January 24, 2009

So, I find myself in on yet another Saturday night, sad times huh?

In pure cool dude fashion, I’ve decided to spend my time writing to you, my lovely readers.

Today I shall tell you a story of lust and unwanted love, a tale in which hearts were broken and tears were shed…ok perhaps not, but it comes pretty close!

A few days ago I received a friend request over myspace.com from jewellery company, ‘Lucy Locket’.

The UK based firm sells beautiful handmade pieces, taking influences from fairy tales right through to mythology. Together with intricate detailing and affordable prices, every product on offer really tickles my fancy. So naturally, I thought I’d share it with you!

lucylocket

One design which particularly stood out for me was the Russian doll necklace (£12). As you can see from the image above, they are really cute and lightened up a pretty dull day for me! These necklaces instantly reminded me of a gift I had received earlier this week from my auntie.

dolly

My auntie had received a Russian doll, all the way from Latvia as gift, but quite bizarrely didn’t want the poor thing-I mean, how could she!?! So anyway, it is now my duty to mother the doll, which I think I’m going to name Jemima…  🙂

russian-dolly

 I’ve always really, really, REALLY wanted a Russian doll, so I was chuffed to bits! Especially when I found the tiniest doll ever inside! Aww, it’s a baby!

Tiny

If anyone has a Russian doll feel free to share your pictures as they’re one of my favourite cultural icons, feel relieved I didn’t ramble about their history!

One Comment leave one →
  1. jinglejanglescarecrow permalink
    January 25, 2009 12:10 am

    I do love russian dolls! What is it about them?! Though when I finally managed to buy one at the ripe old age of 20 I rarely ever look at it properly or even open it up! I’m ashamed of myslef I really am!!! xx

Leave a comment